Let’s get edgy

21 Oct

I have never wanted my look to be too bland. I always wanted to add something that gives it some edge and make it look, well, cooler. At one point this desire went as far as wanting to get a tattoo, but I am past that…kind of!

Anyway, I just love to pick out stuff that goes perfectly together, but at times I just want a little more rock ‘n roll in my wardrobe.

Some women never have the desire to dress or accessorize like that. It just is not their style, which is perfectly ok. But for those of you who do, I will give you some tips.

1) Accessories are key. An edgy look is often pulled off by jewelry. Try on a big, bold ring, cuff bracelet, or a long detailed metallic necklace.

Silver cuff bracelet

2) A leather jacket always looks cool and comfy! It does not have to be real leather, but this is a fashionable option for a jacket in the cool weather. A lot of jackets just cover up a cute outfit, but a leather jacket can be PART of an outfit!

Women's brown leather jacket

3)  Shoes, shoes, shoes! The power of shoes is important to recognize. They can make a not-so-exciting outfit look edgier. A pair of nice colorful or embellished flats are casual and easy but also stylish. Heels are an obvious shoe choice to make you look confident, add some edge to an outfit, and help you strut your stuff at any party or event (especially with skinny jeans). Make sure they have some cool detailing to pull off an edgier look.

4 Responses to “Let’s get edgy”

  1. Crystal October 21, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I really like your blog. I have about 5 leather jackets, all different styles, colors and textures of leather. Some great places to find them are in old vintage shops or in stores like SEVEN at Green Hills Mall. When Forever 21 was open they had some great cheaper alternatives, but since they are closed from the flood damage you can still check them out online! Shoes! Steve Madden is my favorite, they look really expensive but they’re usually all under 100 dollars for a great paif of boots or heels. You’re making me want to shop, yikes.

  2. spintogirl1 October 21, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I never really gave it a thought to wear a leather jacket, but I think I might give the idea a try! Love the shoes too!

  3. Rachel October 21, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    I love wearing heels, but I never know when it’s appropriate or not. What is your advice about when to wear heels or not?

    • Megan Maxwell October 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

      I always get a bit bummed when I see some cute heels in a store but think “Where on earth would I wear these to?” Since we are college students, there are not a lot of places to wear heels. I definitely would take the opportunity and wear them to Sunday morning church. If there is any party coming up, wear them with a nice pair of jeans. If you go out to lunch or dinner with friends or a date, wear them there too if you feel like it! I would not recommend wearing them on a regular class day. Your feet will hurt, and it just is not necessary!

Leave a Reply

