Know your style icons: Jacqueline Kennedy and Audrey Hepburn

22 Sep

When I think of Audrey Hepburn, I think of classic, fashionable style. As one of the biggest fashion icons in history, she is a great style icon to follow. She was famous for her simple, yet chic clothing choices. She always looked charming and elegant.Jacqueline Kennedy is another example of classic style without being boring. She was one of the most stylish first ladies in history, and people have remembered her not just for her role, but how put together and sleek her look was.

So that being said, here is my advice for you. To look good in classic clothes, you must have the right fit. It is easy to get slumpy looking pieces when trying to achieve an effortless look. Here are some key pieces to look for:

1) Trench coat— This could be a woman’s best friend, especially in the fall. It is so simple, but it can complete an outfit and give a very chic look to your wardrobe.

2) Black flats– These shoes are essential for classy look. They are simple,but a great go-to pair of shoes to put with almost any outfit.Ā  If you want a more bold look, try a red pair. They look great with jeans.

3) Black turtle neck– This gives you a sleek look that is great for fall and winter. Although all black seems gloomy,Ā  I encourage you to try some black pieces like a turtle neck. It is just a classic look, not to mention slimming. Be sure you’re comfortable in the turtle neck; sometimes they fit kind of awkwardly.

13 Responses to “Know your style icons: Jacqueline Kennedy and Audrey Hepburn”

  1. aquaholic4528 September 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    If I ever feel like cross-dressing or being a drag queen I will keep these fashion tips in mind.

    • Megan Maxwell September 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      Haha yeah sorry. This is kind of a women’s blog!

  2. spintogirl1 September 23, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I have been looking for ways to jazz up my style. This article is really informative, and I like how you used an icon most people are familiar with. I want a trench coat now!

  3. wilacesonbry September 23, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    All I really know about fashion is that I don’t know anything about it. I realize that going into public without clothes is frowned upon. That’s about as far as I’ve come. Oh yeah, I also don’t use the bathroom in my clothes.

  4. Megan Maxwell September 23, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Also, I will add pictures up to this post shortly…if anyone wants to see them!

  5. collegeinjuly September 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Thank you for the clothing suggestions. I think I need to add “shopping trip” to my planner. šŸ™‚ I am a big fan of the classic style and black is my favorite clothing color – although it is really hot in the summer!

    And yes, pictures would be great!

    • juless12 September 30, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Good suggestions! I like that they are things you can always re-wear! Black turtlenecks and black flats come in handy any time! The pictures are very helpful and really make the page as well! I’m ready to read more tips!

  6. coopertorrez September 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    I really like this blog. Even though I obviously don’t pay much attention to woman’s fashion I can tell you give great advice and have great insight.

  7. stasiagirl September 30, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    good to know! i’m always looking for a new trench coat!

  8. clairesellers September 30, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Pictures would be great! Fall clothes always seem so boring to me! I look forward to your posts. Who knows I might just have to schedule a shopping day here pretty soon!

    • Megan Maxwell September 30, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Fall clothes can be very fun! You would be surprised about how excited you get when you buy some new, even basic things for your fall wardrobe, and as long as you buy things that fit, you will feel great wearing them. Just because it is a bit cold outside doesn’t mean you still can’t have fun with the clothes you wear! šŸ™‚

  9. Rachel Hacker September 30, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I love reading this blog. The photos really help get the point across. I think that maybe I will buy a black turtle neck now šŸ™‚

  10. caitlinselle September 30, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Great tips. These two ladies certainly style icons in american culture. Im a fan. I loved how you gave advice of what clothes to buy, and it really came together nicely. Your theme works perfectly with this post in particular not just that but you may have just convinced me to take a shopping trip soon!

Leave a Reply

